Singing songs of life, love and nature from the Yorkshire Dales


The Moonbeams are centred around the duo of Jon Avison on guitar and vocals and Jen Haines on viola, cello and piano, joined at various times and whenever possible by Collective members, Ben Avison on accordion, mandolin, guitar and banjo, and Sam Lawrence on acoustic bass, pipes, banjo and guitar. With others joining the fun when available. 

Our Music

Our original ‘Songs from the Dales’ reflect our deep love and affection for the countryside and culture of the Yorkshire Dales.

We released our first album Sparrowhawk’s Eye in 2012 and followed this with Watching Wildlife in 2015 which was placed in the top 50 folk albums of 2015 by The Daily Telegraph. Album 3, This Land was released in May this year.

Album cover for Sparrowhawk's Eye. A sparrowhawks head with a large yellow and black eye
This Land The Moonbeams cover.jpeg
Album cover for Watching Wildlife. A pencil drawing of trees and flowers with a central circle containing wild animals in the woodland

Celebrating the environment, the countryside and rural life through music, film and the arts 

Get social with us!
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Bandcamp Icon
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon
Share your thoughts!


Telephone : ​07818048765

Email :


© 2020 The Moonbeam Collective.